I want to Ride my bike

Adventures in Tahoe and beyond

Archive for the day “July 14, 2011”

Racing Doldrums

July boasts only one race – yes, anther local hill climb!  I had a pretty decent ride up Geiger Grade (7.64 miles and 2126′ gain).  Not much more to say than I went uphill as fast as I could without popping.  It’s always nice to be in a racing environment just to practice getting things (i.e. my warm-up) together and to learn more about how long I can hold a hard pace.

It’s hard not to feel sort of isolated and stagnant this month.  I didn’t plan a bunch of races because I knew that I would be traveling across the country (without my bike) for a week.  Also, leaving life at 5000′ tends to heat things up pretty quickly.  It’s not that I’m scared of racing in a little heat, I just don’t enjoy the air conditioning-less drive down to bicycle racing land.  I’m sure my legs will appreciate the break, but my mind is ready to race! I look forward to the second half of the season but for now, it’s off to the beach!

Post Navigation