I want to Ride my bike

Adventures in Tahoe and beyond

Scramblin’

Summertime mornings in the mountains are cool, crisp, and quiet.  Each morning, as soon as my eyes are open, I leap out of bed and start going over all of the days tasks in my head.  Ok, I don’t leap.  I relax, check my resting heart rate, and then tumble out of bed.  Almost on auto-pilot, I let the chickens out of their coop, interrupt the deep slumber of my dog (if I’m up, you’re up), and start making breakfast while the NPR morning personalities discuss what’s going on in the world.  During this time, I analyze the most efficient way to fit in my work, my biking, and everything else.

By the time I finish my breakfast, I have a half-way organized plan and the scramblin’ commences.   Today is one of those days where I run to my closet to gather items, then get distracted by a search for my iPod. Is it in my car? In the garage? Then back to the closet to try and remember what I was looking for in the first place.  After more laps around the house than I can count, I’m ready to go. I’ve loaded a couple months worth of recyclables and my bike in/on my small car and I’ve mapped out a route to try and to do the least amount of driving as possible (keeping in mind that the recycling center is 30 miles away).    I finally pull out of the driveway only an hour and a half later than expected.  Ok, I think, I can recover from this.  Three miles down the road, I realized that I had forgotten my water bottles.  I quickly weigh the options and decide that a 2 hour ride is too long to forego water.

On my second go round, I realize that I have an opportunity to promote my business so I pull over and hand out a flyer.  I was finally on my way until I realize that I don’t have very much gas.  Another weighing of the options and I realize that if I don’t stop now, I won’t make it to the next gas station.  On my 4 mile detour to get gas, I feel like a cartoon character who is spinning her legs very quickly, but remaining in the same place. Slightly disappointed by my lack of organization, I trudge onward and slowly up the hill where I will start my ride.

It only takes one stop to readjust the bike so that it doesn’t fall off of the rack.  I quickly transition over to biking mode once I’ve parked at my destination.  Shoes, helmet, iPod, sunglasses, and go.  For the next two hours, my body will be repeating the same smooth, circular motion and after a few minutes, my mind will give in and stop going in circles.  For the first time today, I am calm and relaxed as I focus on only one task-riding my bike.  I forget about everything else while taking in the wildflowers, the creeks, and the lakes that come into view on my way up the hill.  The recycling, my work, and the other errands will patiently wait for a couple of hours. My peaceful bike ride suddenly makes all the scramblin’ worth it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

