I want to Ride my bike

Adventures in Tahoe and beyond

Planning and Execution – A Sierra Nevada Hill Climb Series Complete

There’s something inherently masochistic about waking up before 5am on a Sunday morning for the sole purpose of riding a bike uphill as fast as you can for over an hour. But, that love for working hard is what keeps a cyclist coming back for more. No matter how many times I think that I don’t have anything left and I promises my legs that I won’t ever make them work this hard again, I keep racing.

Before the hill climb, there was a scent of “let’s get this suffer-fest over with” in the air. While not as steep as the previous climbs, this one was by far the longest – 3715 feet gained over 13.7 miles to be exact.  The race directors brilliantly planned the series so that competitors had to race in 3 out of the 4 events, including the last one:  Mt. Rose from Reno.

A little head wind in the last 2 kilometers inspired this face:

Home stretch of Mt. Rose 8.7.11. Photo Credit - Jon Pettengill

I decided to compete in each of the 4 races in the series back when there was still snow on the ground.  Now, even at the summit  elevation of 8900 feet, I’m sweating. Having finished each of the 4 hill climbs, I feel like I have successfully executed the plan. It’s been fun racing with the same group of Reno/Tahoe/Truckee locals since May and watching a few pros swoop in and set new course records.

Thanks Reno Wheelmen for a great Hill Climb Series!

2011 SNHC Women's Open Division - 1st Place Overall Series

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Planning and Execution – A Sierra Nevada Hill Climb Series Complete

  1. Hey Tina, great blog! Love your coaching team!

Leave a Reply

