I want to Ride my bike

Adventures in Tahoe and beyond

Time for Fall, Time for me

Okay, fine. It’s officially fall. The stable summer weather has given way to crisp and breezy October days which keep us guessing when the first wintry storms will arrive. (*Note: I wrote this prior to that mini storm we had during the first week of October which dumped 1.5 feet of snow over 7500′). Many cyclists have long traded in their road bikes for cross bikes or mountain bikes.

After what I thought was my last race and then my actual last race, I decided to take some time off. Training and racing for months on end can be mentally and physically exhausting. Athletes are trained to push through pain and discomfort and to keep moving forward towards goals. This means that often, it’s hard to tell when it’s time to take a breather.

This month, the focus is on replacing all that I’ve expended riding my bike since March and refreshing my love for cycling. This means correcting nagging problems, working on the muscles that have been hurting recently, strengthening the weak muscles, and figuring out how to be hella-fast for next year.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

